top of page
  • Writer's pictureSheela Adhar

Out of The Darkness, Into the Blue

Updated: May 29, 2023

There have been many occurrences in life where poetry has come to me easily. Mostly these are times of hardship or spiritual searching & learning. It seems that poetry has been a part of my life forever and it resonates deep within my soul, reminding me that I’ve been here before. I hope that you enjoy the following five poems. They are part of me & my life’s journey.


I am forever creatrix. I honour the muse who inspires me greatly in times of change, hardship & soulwork. I feel an undeniable sense of past life self reaching toward the present me. We share so much in terms of how we fight for this land on a spiritual level & so much in terms of life pathway. The only thing separating us is the journey of time....And so it begins



Out of the Darkness, into the Blue (part 1)

Music to my ears.

I hear thunder,

It beckons me to my space,

Thunderous rolling

“Come take your place”

My heart begins unfolding,

My mind at last can see,

The veil has been lifted

And my armour is ready

Amidst the darkened grey cloud

I hear the footsteps of the Gods

Slowly yet thunderously strolling

Toward me in the fold

I take shelter beneath the golden beam

And step out with care

For the rain comes to cleanse me

And release my soul from its snare

Lightening flashes surround me

Sparks desire and at once

I am whole again

And stand in battle stance

For the Goddess has given me a lightening torch to behold

To stand next to warriors

And tell my dreams of the bold

Fight until the battle’s won

And nowt but grey is left

The rolling of the thunder tells of my vision quest.

(©Sheela Adhar. 2016)

Out of the Darkness, into the Blue (Part 2)

Ringing in the changes…..The battle of wills

Amidst the armoured knights I stand

A battle worn sword in my hand

Ready to charge and fight

For this land, be still my flight.

Slow my thundering heart to hear

Whatever is sent for us to fear

And in my space a call to grace

Beseeching face to shed no tear

Slowly, forward moving tread

Into the fold and into dread

I hold my shield and sword to heart

In unison of taking part, we stare into death

In strike and dodge and slash and batter

The light of shield and sword and matter

A Breath of life and death together

Behold the shining of our truth

To set us free from heel and hoof

Souls soar, voices raised

A battle is won and fear erased

I hear the cries echo mine

‘I am this land and this land is mine!’

And where we fought now stands the mother

Baring breast and floral armour….And so it is

And so it shall be

Once again we stand in battle stance

Quaking in the moment and taking that chance

(© Sheela Adhar. August 2017)

Powers that Be

Twas courage that stepped forth to honour this land

To intercede betwixt the powers that be

Twas faith that stepped forth to honour the self of all who stood armed and ready.

Twas strength that stepped forth to lend arms to courage, if need be in times of disparage.

Twas love who lent her bridle amidst the hoard

But only hope could bring about peace whose birthing was deafening , bloody & painful to all

(© Sheela Adhar 2018)

The Changing of Women

She stripped off her armour and she was free,

Walking barefoot next to the sea

Her defences weren’t down

Just differently placed

As she took a step into her new space

Although there were those who could not help but frown

As she stepped from the warrior into the crone

No longer the care of what others may think

She drives her will on a dais

Her stare has gone from wild embrace

To something as simple as a knowing smile on her face

Her tread has changed from charges to meander

Leaving all past cares asunder

She bares her breast but not with metal

Dressed in sea life & flower petals

Her hair no longer tied with mace

She lets her curls drop down her face

She’s older now not the maiden she was

Motherhood is passing but not truly at loss

The days of warriorship will never pass

But for now & for all she raises her glass

(© Sheela Adhar 2018)



The Passing of the Warrior

Remembering The Call

“Rise, Stand! Be counted as one for this land,

No Fear shall enter here

No weed of shame or guilt

Nothing fashioned of man

Shall pass. This is a sacred path”

Remembering The Teachings

Know that you are strong,

Know you are protected,

Know your soul to be unconquerable,

Know you are interconnected,

Know that your strength arises from,

The tendrils you have grown,

Toward the core of this land

Defending seeds once sown.

Remembering The Prayers

Blessed are we who have welcomed the spirit of the land into our lives,

Blessed are we who fight for that which is right,

Blessed are we who stand in defiance of greed & injustice

For we stand in the blessed rain & they cannot hear our approach

For they are born senseless.

Remembering The Battle

Battle cries, howls & shrieks

Clash of metal on bone

The smell of death lingers and wreaks

I am here, I stand not alone

Blood soaked & stained, I stumble

In & around bodies, I fumble

Face of death, my entrails lay fettered

My soul cries & from my mouth words are indebted

The Ending

Soft hands take me & in their arms

Raise me

Above & I am carried to calm waters.

“Be still, be blessed my battle torn friend.

This battle for you has come to an end”

And slowly now, drifting away to the sea

Broken limbs,Victorious soul, My battle story….

(© Sheela Adhar 2020)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page